The State Between Us is an album that contemplates what it means to be British in 2018. Its sixteen tracks reflect a journey on foot across Great Britain (and beyond) imagined in beautifully elegiac melodies carefully woven with site-specific recordings. World War II planes in flight rub against a Ford Fiesta being broken down into its component parts; the loneliness of a cross-channel swimmer follows a single cyclist riding around Chequers. Here, the evocative sounds of empty harbours, and factories being demolished, of ancient trees and the calls of soon to be extinct animals ebb and flow through music that poses one hugely significant question – Where’s Home? – and leaves the listener with one resoundingly hopeful answer: You’re Welcome Here.

The album is available to PRE-ORDER now

Made in collaboration with over a thousand musicians and singers from across the EU, The State Between Us began as a project responding to the triggering of Article 50 and the dramatic shift in the national story that began in June 2016. Over the course of the next two years – against the backdrop of a relentlessly challenging news cycle and via large-scale recording sessions abroad – something unexpected emerged


The State Between Us track listing:

  1. A Devotion Upon Emergent Occasions

  2. Fiesta

  3. You’re Welcome Here

  4. Run It Down

  5. The Tower

  6. An A-Z Of Endangered Animals

  7. Reisezehrung

  8. Moonlight Serenade

  9. Be Still

  10. The Words

  11. The Special Relationship

  12. Where’s Home

  13. Fish And Chips

  14. Backstop (Newbury to Strabane)

  15. Feedback

  16. Women Of England

Whilst the record is a giant collaboration, there are a number of notable special guests including singers Rahel Debebe-Dessalegne, Arto Lindsay, Merz, Patrick Clark and highly respected solo instrumentalists Enrico Rava, Byron Wallen, Sheila Maurice Gray and Nathaniel Cross. Lyrics include words by Britain’s greatest living playwright Caryl Churchill, Percy Shelley, John Donne and various abusive members of the public and the secretary general of UKIP.

Artwork by longtime collaborator Sarah Hopper for The State Between Us is based on an image taken by renowned photographer Eva Vermandel.

The Matthew Herbert Great Britain and Gibraltar European Union Membership Referendum Big Band play an already announced German show in February at the extraordinary Elbphilharmonie and have two shows at the Royal Court in London on album release day: February 16th Elbphilharmonie Hamburg (sold out) March 29th Royal Court Theatre, London (two shows)

The project has so far been featured in many international publications including EuroEfe, Deutsche Welle, Deutschlandfunk Kultur, El Confidencial, El Mundo, El Pais, Mainichi, Politico, Reuters, Schweizer Radio und Fernsehen, Tages Spiegel and The Telegraph Chopper’s Brexit Podcast

twitter: @matthewherbert

facebook: @matthewherbertmusic

instagram: @matthewherbertmusic